

### YMCA of Cape Breton

### March 31, 2024, Annual General Meeting

# Thursday, July 4<sup>th</sup>, 2024 (5:30pm)

### (In-person at 399 Charlotte Street, Sydney, NS, and via Zoom)

### **Meeting Minutes**

**Board Directors in Attendance:** Kevin MacEachern, Omar Tag El-Din, Evan Baillie, Jill Perry, Stephanie Sawler, Christine MacDonald, Mark Tambal, Simran Virdi, Jackson Tighe, Emily MacLennan, Nicole Cammaert.

### Board Director Regrets: Amrinder Singh

Note: Emily MacLennan joined AGM at 5:56pm.

#### **Guests:**

Alisa Ryan	Jillian MacKay	
Angela Bruce	Julie MacKinnon	
Anita Vosman O'Rourke	Kelsey Harvey	
Ashley Burns	Maryam Mohseni	
Blair Cameron	Nicole MacDonald	
Bridgette McDonald	Nikki Smith	
Celeste Campbell	Regan Melanson	
Danette LeBlanc	Rob Wadden (Grant Thornton)	
Dariia Pasko	Robert Zwarun	
Devon Pierre	Sabrina Vatcher (CEO)	
Eileen Bruleigh	Staci Neville	
Haley Johnston	Stephanie Peach	
Heather Somerton	Tammy Marshe	
Debbie MacLeod	Tanya Wilneff	
Janna Suresca	Valerie Dolhanty	
Jeff MacNeil		



Kevin MacEachern established quorum and called the meeting to order at 5:35pm.

# 1. Welcome

Sabrina and Kevin welcomed everyone to the March 31, 2024, annual general meeting of the YMCA of Cape Breton.

# 2. Land Acknowledgement

Omar Tag El-Din shared a land acknowledgment statement: "We would like to begin by acknowledging that we are in Mi'kma'ki, the ancestral and unceded territory of the Mi'kmaq People. This territory is covered by the "Treaties of Peace and Friendship" which Mi'kmaq and Wəlastəkwiyik (Maliseet), and Passamaquoddy Peoples first signed with the British Crown in 1725. The treaties did not deal with surrender of lands and resources but in fact recognized Mi'kmaq and Wəlastəkwiyik (Maliseet) title and established the rules for what was to be an ongoing relationship between nations...We are all Treaty People."

### 3. Approval of the Agenda

Motion: To approve the YMCA of Cape Breton March 31, 2024, AGM agenda as presented.

Moved: Omar Tag El-Din Seconded: Jackson Tighe

Carried Unanimously

## 4. YMCA Story

Robert Zwarun, YMCA member and volunteer instructor, shared his YMCA story.

### 5. Approval of 2023 AGM Meeting Minutes

<u>Motion:</u> To approve the YMCA of Cape Breton, March 31, 2023, AGM meeting minutes as presented.

Moved: Mark Tambal Seconded: Stephanie Sawler

Carried Unanimously

## 6. Remarks from 2023/2024 Chair and CEO

YMCA Board Chair Kevin MacEachern and CEO, Sabrina Vatcher, provided brief remarks.



#### 7. 2024 Financial Report & Approval

Rob Wadden, Principal with Grant Thornton LLP, presented the financial report for fiscal 2023-2024

<u>Motion:</u> To approve the YMCA of Cape Bretons Audited Financial Statements for the year ending March 31, 2024, as presented.

Moved: Evan Baillie Seconded: Jill Perry

Carried Unanimously

### 8. Appointment of 2024/2025 Financial Auditor

<u>Motion:</u> To reappoint Grant Thornton as the YMCA of Cape Breton's auditor for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2025.

Moved: Evan Baillie Seconded: Omar Tag El-Din

Carried Unanimously

### 9. 2024/2025 Proposed Slate of Directors

Kevin thanked this year's Nominating Committee which included board members Kevin MacEachern, Jill Perry, Nicole Cammaert (Chair), Amrinder Singh, and Simran Virdi well as community representatives Ankit Wadwha and Marlene Usher, as well as CEO Sabrina Vatcher.

Kevin invited Nicole Cammaert, Committee Chair, to provide an overview of the Nominating Committee's work and the proposed slate of Directors for the 2024/2025 term. Nicole shared that the Nominating Committee worked with the board to complete a skills and diversity gap analysis to identify priority skills for recruitment of new Board Director volunteers for two rounds of interviews and identified Finance, Health and Wellness, Governance/Leadership, Risk Management, and Legal as priority areas. The committee also strived to present a diverse group of candidates for the next term.

The following Board of Directors were recognized as retiring:



Evan Baillie (end of term)
 Omar Tag El-Din (end of term)
 Amrinder Singh (during term)

The following Board of Directors will continue with their current term on the Board:

- 1. Emily MacLennan
- 2. Jackson Tighe
- 3. Jill Perry
- 4. Nicole Cammaert
- 5. Simran Virdi
- 6. Mark Tambal
- 7. Stephanie Sawler
- 8. Kevin MacEachern

The following Director would like to re-offer another term for a 2-year term:

1. Christine MacDonald

The following new candidates have been nominated for their first three-year term (2024-2027):

- 1. Staci Neville
- 2. Maryam Mohseni
- 3. Kelsey Harvey

Summary:

Returning Directors:	Re-offering Director:	New Directors:
<ul> <li>Emily MacLennan (to 2025)</li> <li>Jackson Tighe (to 2025)</li> <li>Jill Perry (to 2025)</li> <li>Nicole Cammaert (to 2025)</li> <li>Simran Virdi (to 2026)</li> <li>Mark Tambal (to 2026)</li> <li>Stephanie Sawler (to 2026)</li> <li>Kevin MacEachern (to 2025)</li> </ul>	• Christine MacDonald (to 2026)	<ul> <li>Staci Neville (to 2027)</li> <li>Maryam Mohseni (to 2027)</li> <li>Kelsey Harvey (to 2027)</li> </ul>

Motion: To approve the proposed slate of Directors as presented.

Moved: Nicole Cammaert Seconded: Mark Tambal

Carried Unanimously

### 10. YMCA of Cape Breton By-Laws



Kevin provided an overview of the proposed changes to the Association's bylaws Shine ()n including:

- o Editing appointment of Officers by-law to give us the ability to elect the officers for the next term in the last regular board meeting before the AGM as opposed to the regular board meeting after the AGM;
- o Adding a by-law noting the maximum term length for officer roles, especially the Chair role as the current by-laws are silent on the maximum term lengths for officers;
- o Adding a new by-law on attendance requirements for board directors to attend board and committee meetings; and
- o Clarifying that a paid employee of other YMCA Associations are also ineligible make application for a Board Director position.

Motion: To adopt the proposed revisions/additions to the YCB by-laws as presented.

Moved: Omar Tag El-Din Seconded: Evan Baillie

Carried Unanimously

### **11. Recognition of Retiring Board Director**

Kevin welcomed CEO Sabrina Vatcher to recognize retiring board directors Evan Baillie, Omar Tag El Din and Amrinder Singh.

#### 12. New Business

No new business added.

#### 13. Adjournment

Closing remarks and gratitude presented by Kevin MacEachern.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:28pm. Moved by Nicole Cammaert.